CEAA - Centro de Estudos Arnaldo Araújo

Carla Carvalho
Professional Name

Carla Carvalho


Carla Santos Carvalho

Research Groups

Associate Members

Position in CEAA

Art and Critical Studies research group

Web Pages
Short Curriculum

Carla Santos Carvalho, aka Carla Carvalho, was born in Lisbon and has lives in Porto. She is a culture journalist and researcher, enthusiastic of the trees and the arts. Recently, Carla has been actively engaged in activities related to research in the arts. She did research and curatorial support for the Bienal de Arte Contemporânea da Maia 2023 and the exhibitions Imagens em devir (Porto Biennial'23 of Photography), Walking Art Maps (2022) and From our collection with care - conserving and sharing the FBAUP collection (2022). Master in Art Studies, Faculty of Fine Arts, University of Porto, with the dissertation: Autofiction: a heuristic tool for the production and critical reception of the work of art (2022). Bachelor in Communication Sciences, Faculty of Arts and Humanities, University of Porto (2023). She is a collaborating researcher at the Art and Critical Studies Group of the Centro de Estudos Arnaldo Araújo. Finalist of the Do(C)ôa Nature Film Festival 2023, with the documentary Landra: Um projeto de vida, she is also a regular moderator of the cycle Conversa de Bastidores, organized by the Municipal Theater of Vila Real. Broadcast journalist for decades, mainly at SIC (1994-2020), she specialised in cultural issues, namely in the fields of visual arts, performing arts and literature. In the course of this activity she interviewed dozens of artists such as Alberto Carneiro, Cruzeiro Seixas, Eduardo Batarda, Leonor Antunes, Joana Vasconcelos, João Cutileiro, José Barrias, José de Guimarães, José Rodrigues, Júlio Pomar, Jorge Martins, Jorge Pinheiro, Julião Sarmento, Paula Rego, Pedro Cabrita Reis, the architects Álvaro Siza and Souto de Moura or Anish Kapoor, Cildo Meireles, Julie Mehretu, Liam Gillick, Marlene Dumas, Mel Bochner, Nairy Baghramian, Olafur Eliasson, Philippe Parreno, Tacita Dean, Wolfgang Tillmans, among others. Also curators such as Connie Butler, Suzanne Cotter, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Robert Lubar Messeri, Joan Punyet Miró, João Fernandes or Vicente Todolí.